Tag Archives: worlds

Worlds Contingent Announced

After a gruelling two days of trials we’re extremely excited to announce our contingent for the 2014 World University Debating Championships. We’ll be sending one our largest Worlds contingents to defend our title in Chennai this December. A massive thank you to debate triallers Viv Jones and Tim Mooney and adjudication examiner Gemma Buckley for generously giving up their time this weekend.

2014 Worlds Contingent

Monash A: James Beavis and Gemma Buckley
Monash B: Nisha Dutta and Beatrice Paull
NEW! Monash C: Andrew Gaulke and Tom Stansfield NEW!


Bec Lew
Tom Stansfield
Andrew Gaulke
Swetha Prabhakaran
Andrew Belyea-Tate
Keefe Chan
NEW! Sameema Nelofur NEW!
NEW! Sruthi Chandrashekar NEW!
Madeline Schultz (Independent)
Nicole Franklin (Independent)
Mel Matteo (Independent)
Bec Irvine (Independent)
Andrew Elder (Independent)

< back to top

Monash wins Worlds … again

For the third consecutive year, Monash University has won the World University Debating Championships. Monash B, consisting of James Beavis and Nita Rao, took out the Grand Final after breaking 48th overall at the tournament in Berlin. James was also named the ‘Best Speaker in the Grand Final’ by the Honorary Judging Panel.

Monash C and A also broke, progressing to the Double-Octo and Quarter Finals respectively. Melissa Matteo, Amit Golder, Kiran Iyer, Victor Finkel and Dominic Guinane were also invited to adjudicate the finals series.

Monash’s debaters also achieved considerable success in the individual speaker rankings, with Nita Rao, Madeline Schultz and Chris Bisset ranking 10th, 4th and 1st overall.

The Monash Association of Debaters now stands alone as the only debating society to win Worlds three times in a row, having won 5 out of the last 14 Championships since its first win in 1999.

A big thanks to the entire contingent, especially those unlucky enough not to break, and as well as those debaters not attending the tournament who popped in to celebrate.

Here’s to an excellent 2013.

< back to top