Tag Archives: latest

2017 (A year in review) MAD Update!

After a Hiatus, the website is back up and running. Over the next few weeks, the website will be updated to where the Monash of Association of Debaters is as of right now. This by no means detracts from the successors we have had as a club over the past year and a half! All members should be very proud of doing their absolute best and making MAD such an inclusive and happy club!


Wom*n’s 2017 (AWDC – Held at ANU)

Congrats to our contingent at ANU Wom*n’s! All should be very proud of their efforts at this tournament and the improvement made over the tournament, not to mention all the new friends too!

Mollie Ashworth
Lia Diamantopoulos

Shara Teo
Laura Gibertson

Alex Lawrence
Katie Polus

Gabby Stolzenhain
Tamika Kate

Tanvi Gokhale and Amy Liu

Also a very big thank you to our selectors Swetha Prabhakaran and Mary Pirozek for putting together fantastic teams and taking time out of their lives to watch even more debates!

A further congratulations is needed for MAD 2 who broke all the way to semi-finals! Well done to Shara and Laura!


Australs 2017 (Held at UQ)

Our Australs contingent was as follows

Keith James, Liam Tomlinson, Laurel Trinh

Wallace Huang, Mary Pirozek, Gabby Stolzenhain

Peter Vicary, Mollie Ashworth, Joshua Sim

Rohan Waring, Steven Dickson, Kelvin Ng

Boris Lam, Lia Diamantopoulos, Amy Liu

Andy Downie, Laura Gilbertson, Tamika Chikulin

Andrew Moore, Andrew Polus, Daniel Liebreich, Katie Polus and
Tanvi Gokhale

Congrats on all members for having a fantastic tournament and becoming so much closer as a contingent post-tournament. All members should feel very proud for doing their best and be prepared to go even further at 2018 Australs in Malaysia.

Also, a big shout out to our selectors Tim Sonnreich and Viv Jones for returning to the club after so many years and giving up their very valuable weekend to watch us debate. Their hard work paid off when it came to the formation of the teams and we wish them all the best (hopefully they were able to find ways to relax around the debates before the working week resumed).


Easters 2017 (Held at Wollongong)

Gabby Stolzenhain, Mary Pirozek, Katie Polus

Wallace Huang, Yasmin Poole, Mollie Ashworth

Allan Quanchi, Alisdair Gurling, Lia Diamantopoulos

Ovindu Rajasinghe, Andrew Polus, Hasitha Jayatilake

Keith James, Laura Gilbertson, Liam O’Shea

Liam Tomlinson, Tamika Chikulin, Rahul Sathish

Angie Arteaga, Joseph Nguyen, Loren Pugh

Laurel Trinh, Boris Lam, Janet Chhean

Peter Vicary, Austin Bond, Eric Xie

Andrew Downie, Glenn Donahoo, Shara Teo, Andrew Moore, Steven Dickson, Tanaya Joshi, Joshua Sim
Nikhil Puppla (IA)
Andrew Elder (DCA)

Congratulations to all our teams (especially the novices who were attending their first ever University tournament!!!) for doing so well at the tournament!!! You should all be very proud of how much you developed and the friendships you went on to form over the course of those few days. We hope you all had a very rewarding experience and came back keen for more debating and help contribute to the club to make it as fantastic as possible!

A further congratulations to Shara breaking as an adjudicator to the Semi-Final and Nikhil breaking to the Quarter Final. Further, shout out to Andrew (Elder…..but the other Andrew’s are great too) for helping set amazing topics/making the tournament fantastic as well as getting to panel the grand final!!!

A very big thank you to Shara Teo, Gabrielle Stolzehain, Tanaya Joshi, Harrison Jones and Steven Dickson for giving up their time to watch who knows how many debates of nervous novices awaiting the results of trials. Then spending the time to pair novices up with pros (a job very well done!!!).


Worlds 2017 (WUDC held in the Netherlands)

Monash A
Molly Dale
Andrew Elder

Monash B
Amy Gilbertson
Amelia Kearney

Monash C
Liam Tomlinson
Keith James

Monash D
Peter Vicary
Kelvin Ng

Rohan Waring, Joseph Nguyen, Tanvi Gokhale, Andy Downie
Allan Quanchi (IA)

Congratulations to Molly and Andrew breaking to the Double Octo-Finals!!! You all did MAD proud and held your own against the best in the World!!!

Please stay tuned for a 2018 update which will come out imminently!!! MAD performed very well in 2017, we wish all teams and members the best for 2018!

< back to top

Latest happenings

The internals competition Freehills is currently happening at Monash for the next two weeks. If you still want to get involved by adjudicating, observing or possibly debating if there’s an opening, come rock up to see some good ol’ debating!

We’re also very proud to announce our contingent for the Australasian Women’s Debating Championships 2016 held by Monash University and Deakin University – which will run from the 23rd – 26th of September! Keep an eye out for these talented MADdies!

MAD 1:
Freya Rich
Tash Pace

MAD 2:
Amelia Kearney
Tanaya Joshi

MAD 3:
Gabby Stolzenhain
Debbie Clark

MAD 4:
Shara Teo
Judith Apte

MAD 5:
Alex Lawrence
Tamika Chikulin

MAD 6:
Rhea Navani
Mary Pirozek

Adjudicators: Laurel Trinh, Astrid Dunkley, Loren Pugh

This is very exciting as Monash and Deakin will be joint hosting this exciting tournament! We appreciate all the effort the organising committee has put in preparation, namely the convenors Amy Gilbertson, Rebekah de Keijzer and Swetha Prabhakaran. It is also great to see MAD legends Nisha Dutta and Melissa Matteo returning as chief-adjudicators!

Lastly, the AGM is on tomorrow, Monday the 12th of September. Starting from 1:30pm in S12 (16 Rainforest Walk), though do come early to get signed off so we can start the meeting quickly! Elections will take place to vote in the new committee of 2017. If you cannot attend the entire duration of the AGM (expected to several hours), please send Albert, the returning officer, an email regarding a proxy vote (directed or undirected) via webmaster@monashdebaters.com.

Link to the AGM event description: https://www.facebook.com/events/1753455221609396/

< back to top