Free Debate Pre-Australs 2009!

From 29 June to 1 July 2009, Free Debate, in conjunction with Monash Australs, welcomed 56 debaters and 12 trainers from 6 countries across Asia to the third Free Debate Pre-Australs Tournament! The tournament involved 5 rounds, semi and grand finals, a fun-filled championship dinner as well as two training forums – focusing on debating skills, strategies, tips and tactics. Congratulations to the winning team from the University of Tokyo comprised of Dai Oba, Ryotaro Tanaka and Atsushi Inatsuka. Congratulations also to the best speaker of the tournament, Alex Keen from MMU Melaka. Thanks to all the tournament participants for making this such an enjoyable and high quality event. Particular thanks to our amazing collection of trainers. These trainers included: Kim Little, Liz Sheargold, Rob Koh, Lynne Featonby, Lucia Pietropaoli, Tim Sonnreich, Kylie Lane, Melany Tejda, Logandran Balavijendran, Sharmilla Parmanand, Tim Jeffrie and Julia Bowes! And special thanks to the Monash Australs team who helped us out with logistics!